Russell Lecture on Spiritual Life

Rev. Janet Cooper Nelson, G72, Chaplain of the University at Brown University, delivers the Annual Russell Lecture of Spiritual Life in the Coolidge Room on April 6, 2015.

James A. Russell Lectureship on Spiritual Life

The Russell Lectureship is the oldest lectureship at Tufts University, established by James Russell of West Cambridge (now Arlington) in 1867. In accordance with the provisions of the donor’s will, each year the university invites a distinguished lecturer to speak on a topic relating to spiritual life. (Source: Miller, Russell E. Light on the Hill: A History of Tufts College 1852-1952. Boston: Beacon Press, 1966.)

1868      First Lecture: The Reverend Massena Goodrich

1869      Ebenezer Fisher

1870     Elbridge Gerry Brooks

1871      Thomas Baldwin Thayer, “Christianity Sufficient for the Present and the Future”

1872     T. J. Sawyer

1873     E. C. Bolles

1874     I. M. Atwood

1875     A. St. John Chambre

1876     W. E. Gibbs

1877     W. R. Shipman

1878     C. H. Leonard

1879     [No record]

1880     [No record]

1881      J. Smith Dodge

1882      Henry Blanchard

1883      A. P. Peabody

1884      W. H. Ryder

1885      Edward J. Young, “The Sufficiency of Christianity”

1886      A. A. Miner

1887     C. F. Lee

1888      I. C. Knowlton

1889      A. P. Putnam

1890     C. H. Eaton

1891      J. C. Adams

1892      E. E. Hale

1893      G. L. Demarest

1894      T. E. Busfield

1895      C. E. Nash

1896      J. C. Snow

1897     W. S. Perkins

1898      W. H. Ryder

1899      H. W. Rugg

1900     D. M. Dodge

1901      Vincent H. Tomlinson

1902     G. W. Penniman

1903     John Vannevar

1904     Herbert Ernest Cushman, “What Is Christianity?”

1905     F. W. Hamilton

1906     A. W. Grose

1907     F. W. Perkins

1908     L. M. Powers

1909     H. I. Cushman

1910      C. A. Barney

1911      F. O. Hall

1912      John van Schaick

1913      W.H.P. Faunce, “The Sufficiency of the Gospel to Meet the Reasonable Needs of Men Both in Time and Eternity”

1914      C. R. Henderson

1915      I. M. Atwood

1916      Marion D. Shutter, “A Working Theory of Life”

1917      Francis G. Peabody, “Religion After the War”

1918      [No lecture due to wartime conditions]

1919      F. W. Perkins

1920     J. F. Newton

1921      S. M. Crothers

1922      Nehemiah Boynton, “The Importance of Christian Faith and Belief”

1923      Kenyon L. Butterfield

1924      Charles R. Brown

1925      Gaius Glann Atkins

1926      Samuel A. Eliot

1927      J. Edgar Park, “Creation in Literature and Life”

1928      Harold E.B. Speight, “Gains for Religion in Modern Thought”

1929      F. O. Hall

1930     Russell Henry Stafford, “The Indispensable Gospel”

1931      J.A.C. Fagginger Auer, “A Religion for Today”

1932      William E. Hocking, “Religion and Philosophy in Occident and Orient”

1933      Louis C. Cornish

1934      Paul D. Moody

1935      Charles E. Park, “Faith with the Mind’s Permission”

1936      Laurence H. Seelye

1937      John Haynes Holmes, “The New Warfare of Science and Religion”

1938      Lee S. McCollester, “Religion, Learning and Men of the Free Spirit”

1939      Rufus Jones

1940      Robert Cummins, “Religious Implications of the Democratic Process”

1941      Willard L. Sperry, “The Dilemma of Christianity”

1942      Frederick M. Eliot

1943      William Wallace Rose, “Religion and the Religious”

1944      Julius S. Bixler

1945      Bruce W. Brotherston

1946      Clarence Russell Skinner, “Superstition, Reason and Faith”

1947      Eugene G. Bewkes, “Reflections on Religion and Ethics”

1948      Harold A. Bosley, “The Nature of Religious Liberalism”

1949      Robert H. Pfeiffer, “Is the Gospel Obsolete?”

1950      Charles Whitney Gilkey, “Contemporary Religious Trends Among American Students”

1951      Herbert Gezork, “The Fate of Religion Under Totalitarianism”

1952      Parker McCollester

1953      James Luther Adams, “Affirmative Religion the Vocation of Citizenship”

1954      Dr. Henry J. Cadbury, “The Application of Religion to Public Affairs”

1955      Dr. George A. Buttrick, “Beyond Idolatry”

1956      Dr. Dana McLean Greeley, “Religion Makes the Difference”

1957     Dr. Roy Messer Pearson, “The Prophetic Voice of the Church”

1958      Dr. Philip Randall Giles, “The Christian Faith, the Good Man, the World Citizen”

1959      The Right Rev. Anson Phelps Stokes, Jr., “The People of God”

1960     Dr. Albert J. Penner, “Christian Faith and Ethical Decision”

1961      Dr. Samuel Howard Miller, “Character and the Sacraments of the Self”

1962      Dr. Brainard F. Gibbons, “Christian Principles and Business Practices”

1963      Dr. Edwon Prince Booth

1964      Dr. Bradford Eugene Gale, “The Religion of Time and the Religion of Eternity”

1965      Dr. Rhys Williams, “The Future of Man”

1966      Dr. C. Conrad Wright, “Piety, Morality, and the Commonwealth”

1967      Dr. Joseph N. Barth

1968      100th Anniversary: The Rev. Ralph Norman Helverson, “Theseus and the Minotaur”

1969      The Rev. Dr. Harvey Cox

1970     The Rev. Theodore Lockhart

1971      The Reverend Frederick Buschner

1972     Roger Hazelton

1973     [Professor Mary Daly scheduled but did not speak]

1974     [No record]

1975     Professor William Jones

1976     Dr. J. Robert Nelson

1977     The Reverend Dr. Constance Parvey

1978     The Reverend Dr. Victor Carpenter

1979     Dr. George Rupp

1980     Professor George Goethals

1981     [No record]

1982      Dr. Spencer Lavan

1983      Dr. Lamin Sanneh

1984      Professor Brian Smith

1985-1987 [No record]

1988      Professor George Ursul, Emerson College

1989-2001 [No record]

2002     Archbishop Desmond Tutu

2003     The Reverend Professor Peter J. Gomes

2004     The Reverend J. Bryan Hehir, “War, Peace and Terror: Defining the Relationship”

2005     Dr. Ingrid Mattson

2006     The Reverend Dr. Gloria White-Hammond, “A Career in Medicine vs. a Ministry of Healing”

2007    Professor Max L. Stackhouse, “Faith and Globalization”

2008     The Reverend James W. Skehan

2009     Professor Elizabeth Prodoromou

2010     Michael Flaherty A90

2011      The Reverend Peter Morales

2012     Sherman Teichman

2013     Sister Simone Campbell

2014     James Carroll “Christianity and Anti-Semitism”

2015     The Reverend Janet Cooper Nelson G72 “Questions without Answers: Education, Worth, and Empathy”

2016     Professor Diana Eck “The Crisis of American Religious Diversity: Excluding or Engaging Difference”

2017 150th Anniversary – The Reverend Osagyefo Sekou “The Role of the Prophet in a Time of Monsters”